Best Supermarket Coffees for Espresso

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
Fake Coffee Nerd

#1: Post by Fake Coffee Nerd »

I've been drinking mostly filter coffee (Kalita or drip). I order my beans from online roasters and definitely taste a difference between fresh beans and older, store-bought ones.

Now that I'm just getting into espresso, I feel like it would be a shame to waste my nice beans on my lack of skills dialing in etc. On top of that, I buy light-medium roasted beans for filter coffee and I don't think I would enjoy those as espresso.

That being said, are there any supermarket brands that sell whole beans that would taste decent as straight espresso and/or in milk drinks (not even sure which I'll prefer at this point lol)?

I should point out that I'm extremely sensitive to bitterness.

Thanks in advance.

another_jim
Team HB

#2: Post by another_jim »

All Arabica blends tend to be stale. Your best shot for getting your feet wet is an Italian blend with robusta, where staleness is a virtue. Lavazza is the most likely one you'll see in a supermarket. Amazon sells many of them at around $25 per kilo, which os $11 per pound.
Jim Schulman

Jeff
Team HB

#3: Post by Jeff »

If you don't enjoy bitterness, you're unlikely to enjoy a classic Italian blend, even from a top roaster in the style.

Learning to pull espresso on stale beans is an exercise in futility. Between problems with being able to build pressure and tasting off if you do get a good shot, I'd avoid it as false ecomomy.