Am I doing it wrong...

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
lmolter

#1: Post by lmolter »

I don't know whether this post belongs here or in the Level group. It touches on grind and flow rate and lever-operated machines. Anyway, here goes...
I've been pulling shots on my lever machine for almost 3 years now. Since my wife and I drink only cappuccinos (1-to-6 coffee/milk ratio or maybe 2-to-6), it's a never-ending battle to get the cap to have a good coffee flavor. If I buy dark roast beans such as Peet's Major Dickason's and the like, I can get a good pull most of the time until after the beans peak. Then, I'm constantly adjusting grind and pre-infusion to get a tasty drink. Mind you, I'm using a double spout into two 6oz cups. To the espresso pull I add 5oz of milk. But... would I be better off using a larger cup placed under both spouts and adding a little more milk (but not double)? I have 8oz cups but I haven't used them yet. So for me, my "God shot" is a full-flavored cappuccino where I can actually taste the coffee. But not so strong that it can remove rust. Of course, my wife likes everything that comes out of the La Pavoni, but I've become an espresso snob, I guess. Am I making sense (not about the snobbery, but the pulls)?

TomC
Team HB

#2: Post by TomC »

Hi Larry!

You shouldn't need to much pre-infusion trickery on a developed roast like Peets MD. But yes, you can try maximizing your dose, and pulling in one cup, keeping it ristretto should help avoid the harsh bitters and distillates. This should still provide enough oomph to punch thru milk and be quite tasty.
Join us and support Artisan Roasting Software=https://artisan-scope.org/donate/
★ Helpful

ojt

#3: Post by ojt »

The yield on Pavoni is pretty low, I pull one cup at the time. If splitting the cup you're likely getting something like 14 to 15 grams of coffee per cup which may not be enough for a tasty cappa.