4-5 month old beans for espresso - underrated?

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
dsc106

#1: Post by dsc106 »

To clarify, I am picky with my coffee. I live in Portland, can easily taste the difference between Starbucks and local roasters, and between different beans and different roasters. I can also notice the difference when I make pourovers as the coffees age from 5-10 range and when in the 20+ day range.

I have a coffee subscription to Coava and get a new bag every 2 weeks, and I happen to have some whole bean bags left over in the closet which have been stored after being opened, but re-rolled up tightly in their original vacuum bag from November. Sometimes when I need an afternoon hit of caffeine and don't want to rip through my freshest bag too fast, I will pull beans from some old bags.

Today, I ground it up with my Niche Zero made a small iced double shot with milk (probably a 1:1 espresso milk ratio, over ice, stirred and diluted a bit) from a bag of coffee roasted in late November - so just over 4 months old now. I thought the drink tasted GOOD. Not GREAT, but not at all off putting in anyway. It was smooth, earthy, and plenty pleasing enough for an afternoon iced milk drink. No, I couldn't pick out the distinct flavors like I can with my fresher coffee - they seemed to have mellowed into a more one dimensional nutty earthiness - and no, I didn't try it straight up. But for a milk based drink, it was perfectly suitable and I wouldn't complain getting it somewhere. It was MUCH, MUCH better than anything you'd get from say a Starbucks. Not bitter, not sour.