Newbie looking for home training in Los Angeles

Talk about your favorite cafes, local barista events, or plan your own get-together.
Phillipla

#1: Post by Phillipla »

Hi there

My name is Phillip in Silverlake/Los Angeles. I'm new to the home barista world and purchased a Profitec 700 and Sette 270wi grinder and doing great on it for 2-3 months now. I upgraded the PID and was able to increase the steam pressure which was a very worthwhile upgrade! Definitely not easy for a beginner but it was worth it
http://phillipangert.com/profitec700upgrade

Id like to learn users back-flush and cleaning routines, general maintenance tips and any pre-infusion tips I can learn from others.

I thought maybe it would be helpful to pay someone to come over and help pull shots with me so I can learn more professional techniques and how to taste properly. If that's something that I could do with you, let me know. I'd like to pay for your time and drink some espresso together! I have a bunch of nice Kenyan and Ethiopian beans here and some blends to learn on.

Otherwise, any digital tips I can gather would be very helpful. Im a noobie so every shot in the 2:1 ratio in 30 seconds is tasting good to me, but I know there are a million variables to extract the best flavors from these beans. Thanks for any help.

Thank you
Phillip

Advertisement
TomC
Team HB

#2: Post by TomC »

Welcome Phillip!

You're in a very good location to find some excellent hands on tutoring. You have both LAMILL and Intelligentsia right in your neighborhood. Either one would have very well trained barista's who'd likely be very happy to do a home training session with a newbie. I'd start at Intelligentsia first, ask for the supervisor/manager on shift and tell them what you're looking for.