Copenhagen: Coffee Collective

Talk about your favorite cafes, local barista events, or plan your own get-together.
Anthony

#1: Post by Anthony »

While I was a visiting professor last month in Copenhagen, I (and my family) made my/our first stop Coffee Collective, the "home" of Klaus Thomsen, World Barista Champion of 2006. He is a co-owner of CC along with Peter Dupont, Casper Engel Rasmussen and Linus Torsater. See http://www.coffeecollective.dk/index.htm.

One of the striking physical features of CC is the fact that no bar separates the Barista, the equipment, and the coffee enthusiast. This is done expressly to encourage interaction and dialogue.
Klaus was most hospitable, and gave me a tour of the La Marzocco, with my first drink as a ristretto made of CC's espresso blend: Daterra Sweet Collection, Brazil, Finca Vista Hermosa, Guatemala, and Kiawamururu, Kenya AA Top. With aromas of marzipan and chocolate, notes of blackcurrant and gooseberries, and good acidity, it rose to one of my favorite blends.

After a very smooth and light cappuccino, Klaus asked if I had ever had coffee from an Aeropress. We tried the Kiawamururu Kenya AA Top. Although the notes of blackcurrant and gooseberry are present, I found that especially the plum, and a slight aroma of chocolate, came through with clarity. Moreover, one does not get the grittiness with the Aeropress that frequents a French Press. We liked it so much, and it is so portable, that we purchased one. Here is a link to CC's updated instructions for the "inverted" method of the Areopress: http://coffeecollective.blogspot.com/20 ... chive.html.

(As an aside, the children loved his killer hot chocolates made with Valrhona chocolate.)