Cafes and coffee roasters in/around Boston?

Talk about your favorite cafes, local barista events, or plan your own get-together.
affogato_toast

#1: Post by affogato_toast »

Hi all: I am a Somerville resident and wanted to see if anyone here has recommendations for local roasters and/or cafes in the Greater Boston area. The ones I have the most experience with are: Nine Bar Espresso in Somerville (cafe only), Broadsheet Coffee (cafe + roaster) and Barismo (cafe + roaster) in Cambridge, and Gracenote (cafe + roaster) in Boston proper. I have been to George Howell once or twice for beans, but only have a passing familiarity with it.

Are there any other good ones worth checking out? I typically pick up beans from Broadsheet or Gracenote for home brewing (espresso and pourover), and I've been really impressed with both. Broadsheet even offered local delivery early in the pandemic, which was great when the city was pretty locked down.

Peppersass
Supporter ❤

#2: Post by Peppersass »

We visited the George Howell "cafe" at the Boston Public Market weekend before last. I put cafe in quotes because it's really more like a booth in a food court. But don't be fooled -- the espresso is first rate.

I had a Daterra SO double and a cappa made with their daily espresso blend. Though served in paper cups and consumed outdoors (required during the pandemic), they were quite tasty, significantly better than most of the high-end cafe drinks I've had.

I wasn't surprised by the quality of the beans/roasts -- I've bought lots of beans from GHH over the years -- but the overall quality was a nice surprise. You never know whether the barista behind the PF knows how to pull shots. This one did.
★ Helpful

MNate

#3: Post by MNate »