V60 vs Moccamaster

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
Jeff001
Supporter

#1: Post by Jeff001 »

I've held off getting into manual pour over as I have a Moccamaster. In my quest for the best coffee I can make, which is also costing more and more money, I've been wondering if using a v60 or similar will make a difference.

I'm curious to hear from people who do both, strictly looking at the resulting flavor rather than the enjoyment of the ritual.

A secondary question, should you significantly enjoy pour over more, is repeatabiyan issue or is that something you quickly get good at?

TallDan

#2: Post by TallDan »

I think the coffee from my chemex is better than from my technivorm. I don't use the v60 as much because I prefer to make more coffee at a time, which the chemex allows.

That's not necessarily saying that manual is better. I had a Behmor brewer for a bit and I thought it made better coffee than the technivorm.

Aida Battle: Indigo Reserve from world renowned Finca Kilimanjaro in El Salvador
Sponsored by Aida Battle
TallDan

#3: Post by TallDan »

Oh, and for repeatability: I've got my routine down and I think that I'm very consistent. It did take some practice, (and attention when I'm not really awake yet) but it's not hard.

For the price of a v60 and some filters, I don't think you can't go wrong.

kahveadam

#4: Post by kahveadam »

If we were to make such a comparison, my answer would definitely be Moccamaster. Because I think filter coffee is the best brewing equipment. But still, Delter Press is indispensable.

mikelipino

#5: Post by mikelipino »