Taste impact of fines

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
Navigate

#1: Post by Navigate »

Just want to share some experiments we have been doing lately. Me and a couple of other coffee nerds here in Denmark.

First fines was said to attribute bitterness to the coffee. If you brew a very fine grind it will taste bitter and have other bad over-extracted tastes. So you should think that removing fines in a grind would result in a better taste. But it's not that simple.

Matt Perger won the 2012 Brewers Cup by removing the fines by sifting. Later he found that great-tasting-grind from the EK43 has a lot of fines and then declared "fines are our friends".

It has long puzzled me how small particles in the coffee grind could work so different for taste. I hold a Master degree in Food Science and wonder about things like this. I had a suspicion that the reason had to do with how the fines were "situated" in the grind.

The coffee particles are not all free floating among each other (like often portrayed in graphic illustrations of a grind). The fines are sticky. That's due to the physical forces called adhesion. It is not only in case of static electricity. It is like when flour stick on your clothes.

The fines can either stick to larger particles - or to other fines, see photos below. My conclusion is that each result in a different taste.

When fines are attached to bigger particles they act as part of the large particle in the extraction and do not over-extract ... as when they are separate where fines only stick to other fines.

This is now easier to explore because of the Kruve sifter.

Photo 1: This is normal grind, "untouched"

Here clearly the small particles are attached to the larger particles. You can't just blow them off. On the other hand they are not strongly bonded. They more stick like flour on your clothes.

Photo 2: Then I sifted the same grind with a Kruve sifter. Here is the fraction below 400 microns: