Reviving the coffee Zen?

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
drH

#1: Post by drH »

Yesterday while trying to decide whether my single origin light roast from Peru would express itself best as a V60, a Kalita, or as a long ratio espresso, I marveled at how complicated I've let coffee become and how much cognitive space it's come to occupy.

Pour.... Swirl...get out the mellow-drip....pour...wait 45 seconds....ugh, the grind could have been finer!

Where has the Relaxing coffee ritual gone?

It made me think back to the days when I first started to love coffee. As a graduate student I had no money for equipment, no awareness of "specialty coffee", and it was a treasured occasion when I splurged on a bag of Starbucks Guatemala Antigua.
Coffee was crushed in a mortar and dumped into a pot of just-boiled water. When it settled, I decanted through a sieve into a cup.

And it was good. Or at least it always made me happy. Eventually I upgraded to a Frieling French Press and Zassenhaus. It felt like luxury.

So this week I put away my Cremina and my Chemex papers and mined my cupboard for the Frieling. I've brewed with it every morning now (using my Comandante) and...

...it's wonderful. I forgot how easy it is to get tasty, piping hot coffee with immersion brews. Of course I won't part with my Cremina or my V60s. But I'm going to make a concerted effort to get better at doing fewer things, to simply my workflows, eliminate some gear and focus on the methods that bring back the joy of the ritual.

I just thought I'd share and ask you all about your coffee journey. How have you maintained your Zen? Do you feel overwhelmed? What do you do to keep joy in coffee?
★ Helpful

nrcoffee

#2: Post by nrcoffee »