Pour over with french press grind.

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
Bornin1992

#1: Post by Bornin1992 »

Hi, all,

What pour over would work well with a french press grind? I have recently ordered a Hario Skerton Plus to replace a Cuisinart DBM-8 and would like to avoid adjusting its grind setting. I am new to coffee and would like one that has room for error. Ideally, it would also be able to create 16 ounces.

Thanks!

Cheers,

Ian

mivanitsky
Supporter ★

#2: Post by mivanitsky »

Possibly, if you don't sieve the grinds. Also, if you do sieve the grinds, it might be useable for French press as well.

Generally, it is preferable to adjust grind appropriately for the application. Consider two grinders at different settings, as the Hario Skerton is pretty inexpensive.

MikeTheBlueCow

#3: Post by MikeTheBlueCow »

With a grind that coarse, it is likely any pour over would work, you would probably need to adjust how many pours you do to get the brew time to 3.5-4 minutes in order to prevent under extraction. It will depend on how much coffee+water you use as well. I'd go Chemex or Wave, maybe even a beehouse or December dripper.

Bornin1992 (original poster)

#4: Post by Bornin1992 (original poster) replying to MikeTheBlueCow »

To clarify I understand, I would need to increase the number of pours?

I received my Skerton Pro and am frustrated immeasurably with adjusting the settings. Did I make a mistake? :(

happycat

#5: Post by happycat »

Bonavita Immersion, clever dripper might work better for you
LMWDP #603

MikeTheBlueCow

#6: Post by MikeTheBlueCow »

Bornin1992 wrote:To clarify I understand, I would need to increase the number of pours?

I received my Skerton Pro and am frustrated immeasurably with adjusting the settings. Did I make a mistake? :(