Origami Cone-Wave Filter (new era on Brewing)

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
Tzan92

#1: Post by Tzan92 »

Hello everyone , I'm new here , My name is Tzanetos and I'm from Greece !

I've been involved with coffee from 2017 ( kinda new ) and I work as a Barista !
I love Brewing coffee so after an accident I had in the past ( as you can tell I was for many many months stuck at home) I created my own small coffee lab , which got me into roasting using Ikawa Pro and after some time and once I had established great relations with amazing coffee producers arround the world sourcing their coffees also got me into competing in the Greek Brewers Cup !

I can really go on and on , but so far is a great introduction of who I am !

Last three months I've been playing a lot with origami dripper , and I would love to share with you a new innovation I've come up with !!
Using the lily dripper with Kalita Wave 185 paper filters allows us to complete change the filter shape , creating a Cone_Wave filter as I call it !
Have to say that when testing side by side with V60 , the v60 compared as ~FLAT~ next to origami !

This new coffee bed dynamic allows for optimum airflow inside the dripper and maximum water flow , allowing me to grind way finer than ever before!

My concept was always how to grind finer but without using low amount of pours in order to achieve good results ! ( To help me in coffee competitions where you need to brew three coffees at once and identical )

So I use 15g coffee to 250g water , resulting in a 220ml beverage using 4 pours
50g / 120g / 180g / 250g
in a total brewing time of 2:00 to 2:15 mins ( same grind size in v60 reaches 3:00 mins and more)

I would love to share it with you even though I'm going to present it on next years Brewer's Cup here in Greece ( with more detailes and explanations of what is happening )

Also you can check out a small video I've made :
https://www.instagram.com/p/B-fDf52pFM3/