Looking for a little help with my recent (1 year) horrible coffee

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
Drewskie

#1: Post by Drewskie »

For reference, I strictly use the Hario v60.
I'll try to make this short. I've been using the v60 for probably 7 years or so, and after the first few months I was able to consistently make excellent coffee that could rival the coffee shops. About a year ago, everything just started kind of tasting flat and boring even though I had not changed any brewing parameters.

I figured for sure it was the grinder, so ended up upgrading to a Vario, which didn't really help at all. I was trying three different grinders but getting the same boring results across all of them.

Since my coffee was boring and flat, I thought it was under extracted so I started grinding finer, which I think actually made the cups taste worse. I never got any bitterness so they weren't over-extracted, and that is what confuses me, no matter how fine I would grind, they would still just taste boring, maybe slightly astringent.

I tried grinding way course a few times and the coffee definitely tasted a little better but was still very underwhelming, which leads me to believe it is something with the grind, although I'm not exactly sure what. I try to stick with a grind that is around the size of table salt.

This has been happening with multiple different coffees. A friend of mine gives me samples so at any time I probably have 10 to 15 different samples from different roasters and they all pretty much taste the same. Occasionally I can make a good cup, but it's nothing like I used to make.

Is there any hope for me? I would sort of like to completely start over but I'm not exactly sure how.

I also just ordered the Kalita Wave to try but I haven't actually practices with it yet.

yakster
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by yakster »

Does coffee shop coffee still taste good to you? Checking your senses.