I cant find an answer: Espresso pulls fast, is it because of brew pressure?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
alekostarn

#1: Post by alekostarn »

Hello to everyone,
This is my first time posting on this website.
I would like to think of my self as something above a beginner when it comes to espresso. However i have a question which might just be stupid but i cant seem to find an answer anywhere. I have a very basic and cheap coffee setup which includes a Rohnson R-987 espresso machine and a basic wire coffee distributor. Everything else needed to make espresso like tamp is stock and it came with the machine. I have been using it for over a year now and im very satisfied with the results. However as im learning more about espresso i am starting to see a lot of flaws i am having. I know i should probably get some good accessories like a tamp or even upgrade my machine but i am not able to currently.

Although i have a question which would make me really happy if i get them answered. Coffee extraction. As i have read a lot the coffee extraction time should be around 25-31 seconds and made in about 9 bars of pressure. Well when it comes to my espresso machine i dont even know what the pressure is. I've seen some machines which have like a clock indicator or something but mine doesn't, and that leads to my question. Is it because of the pressure that my espresso shot is being pulled so fast ? On average it only takes around 10 seconds for my double shot if espresso to finish pulling. I mean it doesn't taste bad but im just curious if i could improve it because 10 seconds and like 25 is a big difference.

I might just be saying nonsense because im comparing an 100$ espresso machine to several thousands of $ professional machines. Either way i hope i can get an answer. Thanks in advance.

Marmot

#2: Post by Marmot »

Hey, welcome to this forum!

You did not mention a grinder. Do you grind your coffee or do you use preground coffee?