Gooseneck kettle for induction cook top

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
MCal2003

#1: Post by MCal2003 »

Purchased a single burner induction cooktop. The now ancient BonaVita electric gooseneck thermal control has gone bonkers. Broke out the even older stovetop Hario gooseneck. It works on the induction cooktop (max 1800 watt spec), but not much quicker heating than the glass top electric range top. Wondering if it is due to ridges vs. solid flat bottom on the Hario? Plus the diameter is just a tad greater than the 5" minimum the induction top recommends. Clueless if assuming identical metal material if thickness of the base matters? Hario is on the thin side.

Any recommendations? Both for and against anything out there that is induction compatible, Hario or Bonavita performance quality.
LMWDP #151

N1ck

#2: Post by N1ck »

I've been using the Hario Buono stainless kettle for a few years now. I use an Thermapen instant read thermometer so its practically faultless (arguably more reliable and accurate than electric temp controlled kettles). Its important to get the stainless version as I believe the copper version is not Induction compatible).

Advertisement
MCal2003 (original poster)

#3: Post by MCal2003 (original poster) »

Have a Thermapen and older Hario stainless. But, using an analog dial thermometer that matches up really close to the Thermapen. Issue is on the induction cook top the time to "boil" is not much faster than the flat top electric range. Guessing the inefficiency is due to the ridges, thin metal, relatively small (sub 15cm diameter base). Picked up a generic, inexpensive, flat bottom, non-gooseneck kettle. Much larger diameter base at 20cm. Heats the water faster than the Hario. Using it for the Flair 58.