EK "New" Coffee vs. SSP HU vs. SSP Cast Burrs

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
TheCastanza

#1: Post by TheCastanza »

Hi all. I recently purchased a set of the cast burrs from SSP. There was not a lot of info online about these burrs out there so I thought I would contribute. I have used both the stock "new" coffee burrs, SSP high uniformity (red speed), and the SSP cast burrs (silver knight) in my EK over the past month or so. This comparison is focused on pour over performance. I am by no means a tasting expert so take this as it is, one lay person's opinion. I drink mainly medium light/light coffees (Onyx, Metric, and Sey for this last month or so). I really love a good fruity Ethiopian and primarily use a v60. I have the Titus burr carrier in my EK.

Stock EK Burrs
The sweetest of the three burr sets. Almost every pour over was super sweet and pretty much everything tasted great. The draw back to me is that this sweetness would almost overpower some of the more delicate flavors, particularly fruit flavors. The fruit would still really come through on that perfect post-roast couple of days but then would sort of be overwhelmed by this sweetness. After a week or so, and a few different coffees, the coffees blended together with a primarily super sweet taste and I was having trouble with the different origins coming through.

SSP High Uniformity