Difference in taste between coffee filters

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
turtle

#1: Post by turtle »

For years I've said I can taste a difference between different brew methods (Chemex, Beehouse, & Kalita pour overs, Bunn auto, vacuum, press, moka pot, and espresso) when using the same quantity of water and coffee.

Today I decided to use some of my commercial Bunn filters instead of the "fits Bunn" Brew-rite filters that I have been using for the past several months.

There IS a difference in taste between filters of different manufacture when used in the same machine, using the same coffee (and weight) and the same volume of water.

Not sure which is my preference but there IS a difference.

There, I've said it :shock: :roll:

Mick - Drinking in life one cup at a time
I'd rather be roasting coffee

CathyWeeks

#2: Post by CathyWeeks »

I've tried the Chemex filter in the V60. There is a taste difference - like you I don't have a preference. But the filter required some bizarro folding to get it to fit the V60 (and it never really fit well), and the flow rate is so different between the Chemex and the V60 filters that other adjustments had to be made. I ended up thinking I'd rather just use the proper filters. :-)

Boldjava

#3: Post by Boldjava »

turtle wrote:...Not sure which is my preference but there IS a difference...
Years ago, I went to Melitta. I fold them when I need to fit the Hario/BeeHouse. Reasons:
- Availability
- Price
- Quality

They sell a boatload of filters. Keeps the "these seem to be new make" as sometimes occur when manufacturing gets re-subb'ed.
-----
LMWDP #339

turtle (original poster)

#4: Post by turtle (original poster) »