Chemex ratios and techniques

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
CathyWeeks

#1: Post by CathyWeeks »

I've been using a full immersion brewing method for many years, and now I want to switch to pour-over. I have a Chemex and I'd like to start using it again, but I can't for the life of me remember the various settings: coffee to water ratio, water temperatures, grind size.

When I brew using my Fellow Duo, I brew with 50g of beans, to 800 grams of water, with a very coarse grind. Water is at 185F. Total brew time including bloom is 5:45.

Grind size I can figure out on my own - I'll start at the middle of the pourover settings on my grinder. But given the strength above, about where should I start on my bean:water ratio? And what water temp?

I'm hoping there's someone out there who enjoys immersion brew using similar variables as above - and that also likes to brew with a Chemex or other pour-over, that can tell me their favorite pour-over variables, and I can take it from there.

Yan

#2: Post by Yan »

I come from Clever Drip to Pour Over V.60/Kalita Wave/8 cup Chemex, my standard ratio for Chemex 1/15-1/17, temperature around 92-94C, normally I only using 3 pulse pouring, 1st pour 3xcapacity beans grams for blooming for 45s, 2nd 2/3 total brew grams and the 3rd / last pouring the rest of the total brew for 60gr/1L total brew around 4:30-5:00 minutes, different beans have different drow times natural Ethiopian can takes abit long to 6:00 minutes but it still enjoyable in the cups.

From Immersion to Chemex it's a fun coffee journey from heavy mouthfeel character to a clean and better clarity character for grindsize I am using equally to my Kalita Wave grindsize.

The chopsticks triks sometimes help the drow down...

Advertisement
guijan12

#3: Post by guijan12 »

I have a 8 cup Chemex and normally use 33 gr. in for 500 gr. out, in approximately 4-4,5 minutes.
Water temperature around 94 Celsius.