Brewing reference using refractive index instead of extraction yield

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
dukeja

#1: Post by dukeja »

Recently I realized the availability of cheap refractometer option such as this one:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07V5K9HXY/
(I made a mistake of purchasing a 0~40% Brix one, which does not have enough angular resolution. Then I got the above one, which has 0~10% Brix and it will come in a few days)
And I start to have fun using it as the reference for my brewing.

I am an optical researcher and have been working on all kinds of sensors for refractive index (RI)-based optical sensing for two decades, so I am comfortable playing with this very simple gadget to see if I can get most out of it. There are all kinds of sensing techniques and temperature compensation schemes that one can use for better accuracy or repeatability. But that is not the point of this post, so let's not get into that direction. (But you do need to carefully control your sample temperature, as it is shown in this post https://coffeeadastra.com/2019/09/21/me ... precision/)

What I am interested is that I realized extraction yield (E.Y.) that was often talked about may not be a good "brewing reference" for me. I am not trying to link E.Y. or TDS (R.I.) to the taste in the cup, which is a lot more complicated than what an single R.I measurement can tell. However, I do be able to roughly using R.I. to gauge the variation of brewing methods such as V60, Kalita, Aeropress, etc. and brewing profile (bean/water ratio, temperature, grind, water, pouring profile, etc) and maybe even roasting profile, provided we use the same batch of beans. This is what I am interested.

E.Y= (total amount of extracted coffee) / (wt. of bean) * TDS
or in my case E.Y. = (total amount of extracted coffee) / (wt. of bean) * (0.85*Brix)