Worth upgrading to a 58mm on a $700 investment?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
upoverandbrew

#1: Post by upoverandbrew »

Hello, semi-frequent browser, first-time (I think) poster here. Looking for some advice about either upgrading, or possibly not.

For background: I've been drinking coffee for nearly two decades, and have been in various states of making my own since learning the basics of shot pulling years ago as a coffee shop employee. (Emphasis on basics -- it's not like you'd be seeing me at a barista championship any time soon)

In that time, I've also been working with a pretty low budget, and took my time to get upgrades. I started with an aeropress, keep a Melitta pour-over cone around, and 4-5 years ago, went with a Flair Classic. That classic has gone through a few upgrades (the necessary/useful: a pressure gauge and a new portafilter base to accept the two-in-one baskets, as well as two of those to make three baskets -- my usual morning intake; the aesthetically pleasing but less useful: stainless steel drip tray), and paired with my Lido ET and my home-roasted coffee beans (in a stovetop popcorn popper, 12 oz of green a batch), makes for a good set of shots that I'm happy with -- either straight or iced. The volume is my priority here, with the need for a steamer less so.