Wondering about a grinder in my budget.. Hamilton Beach 80405

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
shelbyevelyn

#1: Post by shelbyevelyn »

Hey all, this is my first post, so I'm a newbie. I have an old Breville DuoTemp (800ESXL). Up until now I've been getting the coffee shops to grind my beans for me, but that's been working out horribly so I need a grinder asap. I'm also going to be purchasing a bottomless portafilter and non-pressurized basket.
I've done a ton of reading and I know most of the recommended ones are $300+ just for entry level, but I really only have about half of that to spend.
Costco has a new grinder (can't find reviews anywhere online at all yet) and the description seems promising especially for the price point, but I wanted to see if anyone here knew anything about this grinder, or at the very least, get the opinion of people who know what they're talking about lol. It seems like it has a lot of grind options for dialling in, and I love that it has a scale and a portafilter holder.

https://www.costco.ca/hamilton-beach-pr ... 88146.html

Description:

The finely crafted stainless steel conical burr evenly grinds coffee to a uniform consistency so you can enjoy rich, full-bodied flavour.

Features:
- 39 grind selections
- Automatic mode
- Grinds 1 - 12 cups of coffee or select your desired amount of coffee by ounces or grams
- Grind for up to 60 seconds into your own portafilter, into the included coffee container, or into your own container
- Integrated scale
- Digital control panel and display

Thoughts?

dreadnatty08

#2: Post by dreadnatty08 »

Welcome, Shelby!