Will I be disappointed by older super autos?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Dano83

#1: Post by Dano83 »

Hello,

I have been using a breville barista express now for about 6 months. I'm fairly happy with it for how much it costs but i don't really have any luck getting consistent pulls from it. Anyway, we just had our second kid so extra time in the morning is hard to come by. Because of this, I've been thinking about switching to a super automatic.
I've seen a couple Delonghi Magnifica 3400 machines pop up locally for around $150.

My question is, am I going to be disappointment in the flavor from one of these older super autos? I just drink straight shots and dont really care about steaming milk. Just be blunt...I would rather know before I go buy one.

Any input is much appreciated!

ojt

#2: Post by ojt »

From my experience, yes, you will be disappointed. Sorry :)

I've too small-ish kids and know all the hoopla that goes with that, and quite frankly during the week I am just fine with a nice big Bialetti Moka (big in italian terms == 2 cup moka). Use my Pavoni only on the weekends.

Point being, IMHO, better invest for good equipment and concentrate the effort for when you CAN take the time, rather than dilute the whole experience. Less is more as they say.

Just my 2 cents :)
Osku

Advertisement
sweaner

#3: Post by sweaner »

Do you have a grinder?
What coffees are you using?

I would bet that those cheap machines are not going to work well.
Scott
LMWDP #248

HB
Admin

#4: Post by HB »

Dano83 wrote:My question is, am I going to be disappointment in the flavor from one of these older super autos?
Williams-Sonoma and the like have demo super-automatics to sample. In my limited experience, they're barely passable. If time is limited and you really want espresso, Nespresso or Keurig capsule brewers are unbeatable on convenience.