What semi-auto espresso machine to pair with Niche Zero? Budget around $1000

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
dbdnt

#1: Post by dbdnt »

Hello,

I've been primarily using a Cafelat Robot for the past year with either a Vario or NZ and I've been considering buying a semi-auto machine. I have some experience with the Gaggia Classic Pro and didn't really care for it, mostly due to the temp surfing and supposed 'need' for mods. I do favor light roasts for pourover and have experimented with them a bit for espresso, though I usually stick to medium roast with the Robot. I've also become more interested in doing milk drinks, especially when entertaining guests, though I usually drink 1-2 straight espresso on my own most days. I've been getting by with a milk frother to compliment the Robot in those situations. And I am not very interested in just getting a Bellman steamer as opposed to a machine.

My question is which machine in the budget range of ~$1000 would fit my needs? I have looked extensively at machines and find myself in some analysis paralysis due to lack of experience. I would consider bumping the budget up for a Breville Dual Boiler as that seems to get a lot of positive feedback, but I am curious if I could get away with something like a Bambino, or if a machine of that caliber would not benefit greatly from the NZ's grind. I think I have a fairly developed palate, but I'm not sure what the overkill/diminishing returns point is for me. I am also heavily considering a Lelit Victoria, ECM Casa V, or Rancilio Silvia w/ PID. I'm hesitant to buy used as I don't have much free time or expertise to fix machines if need be.

Let me know if I can provide more info. I am very curious to hear your suggestions. Thanks.

Jeff
Team HB

#2: Post by Jeff »

At US$1,000-ish, I'd look at the Quick Mill Silvano Evo.