What Prosumer Grinder Should I Get For Both Espresso & French Press

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
jwjohnson79

#1: Post by jwjohnson79 »

Good Morning All,

I am new to the world of real coffee and espresso brewing. I was on of those that thought coffee was supposed to be bitter and needed to be doused with lots of cream and sugar to make it palatable. Having done some contracting work for a European based company, I got turned on to the Nespresso machines. I went out and bought one and have been enjoying decent espresso. But this has now left yearning for more, knowing that I can create even better coffee and espresso in my home with the right equipment.

After countless hours over the past few days reading reviews and forums, I have found that the first thing I need is a good coffee bean grinder. The problem I have also found is finding a bean grinder that I can go between settings for use in both a french press and an espresso machine. My wife would kill me if I bought two separate grinders. Is there a grinder that can go between both? I have been looking at the Baratza Vario and Mazzer Mini. I already read a thread on here from 7 years ago comparing the two. If I must get two separate machines, should I get the Virtuoso for my french press? I am open to suggestion. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Jason

Bill33525
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by Bill33525 »

There is a good chance you will be using different beans for each preparation. With that said trying to change hoppers and finding the correct setting for each style of drink will be a challenge, to say the least. Readers on this forum will be able to help further if you can declare a budget for the grinder/s.

jwjohnson79 (original poster)

#3: Post by jwjohnson79 (original poster) »