What is next upgrade from Baratza Sette 270w

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Jvbraun

#1: Post by Jvbraun »

I have been using the 270w for about 6 months and love it. I found single dose into a LWW Shaker helps as does a Pullman distribution tool and big step tamper. I have become sensitive to flow thru the naked portafilter and with the consistency of my tools I still get some variation in shots. I notice grind consistency even after shaking nit super great. Thinking a grinder upgrade is in order. Will spend some money. I like single dose grinders as it's just me and I have a nice Acaia bean counter. Thinking LWW EG1, or Monolith, conical or flat. Any suggestions. I want this to be the last grinder I buy. Thanks in advance.

mililani

#2: Post by mililani »

That's pretty interesting. I have a 2+ year old Vario that is now just super inconsistent with grinding. My shots have so much variability nowadays even between back to back shots. This morning, as an example, I pulled a nice 9 bar shot in 29 seconds with 40 grams out, 17.8 in. Right after, I made another one at 18 grams in, and almost zilch coming out. Completely choked my machine's OPV limit.

I actually hate Baratza now. They make sort of cheap crap that at the end of the day is just cheap crap. I'm ready to spend $1000+ for my final end all grinder. I'm looking at a titan flat like a Ceado e37s. I want a super stable grinder that can time out dosed shots. That's all I need.

Advertisement
mgwolf
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by mgwolf »