What grinder to buy?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
snoordzee

#1: Post by snoordzee »

Hi all,

I'm new to all of this. Just bought a Rancilio Silvia to try and find my way in making good coffee. I need to buy a grinder but don't want to spend a lot of money right away. So what do you ppl suggest I should buy?

Thanks a lot
Cheers
Sam

liquidmetal

#2: Post by liquidmetal »

You're only as good as your weakest link - machine and grinder go hand in hand. A Sette270 would be a great pairing for your Silvia. I have it with a Lucca M58 and it does me well. The Sette270 would be able to stick around through upgrades for you as well. I highly recommend it.

redbone

#3: Post by redbone »

Since ones version of a lot of money varies, what is your grinder budget.
Have you considered used ?
Between order and chaos there is espresso.
Semper discens.

Rob
LMWDP #549

trapperkeeper

#4: Post by trapperkeeper »

orphan espresso pharos 2.0 for $350 is impossible to beat... used super jolly would work...
LMWDP #600

BoulderGeek

#5: Post by BoulderGeek »

As a former Silvia owner, I got by for years with a Baratza Encore with the Silvia. Lots of people here will make vomiting noises and declare it impossible, but it can be done. At the bottom line, you can get a Baratza Virtuoso for $185 on refurb at baratza.com.

I am making better coffee now, with a $395 (after loyalty point discount) Quamar M80. It's a currently produced version of a Fiorenzato copy of a Mazzer-type design. I'm sure someone will correct this impression. 63mm flat burrs, torquey motor, lots of metal.

If I had it to do again, though, I might go with the stepless Eureka Mignon for home. Available online for about $425 with code discounts, I suspect it might produce better grinds than the Quamar.

thefundu

#6: Post by thefundu »