Upgrading from my first espresso machine (Ascaso Steel PID)

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
alpinito1

#1: Post by alpinito1 »

Dear all,

I am rather new in this, and I have had an ascaso steel PID combined with a Barazza sette 270 grinder for a couple of years now.

Although I am happy with both of them, I realized my machine is not very stable in temperature and since it has a single boiler, I cannot steam and brew a coffee simultaneously. Therefore I would like to upgrade my machine. (To be honest those are the reasons I found to try to convince myself (and my partner!) it is a good idea to change, but in reality it is mainly because I just wanna upgrade my machine :wink: you might understand... )

I mainly use the machine to make espresso and from time to time some milk based beverages.

I came across some second hand machines that look good. So these are the options I am considering now :

- ECM CLASSIKA PID 850€
- Rocket Giotto Evoluzione V2 (2016 without PID) 850€
- Bezzera mitica top mn 900€
- Breville Dual Boiler 650€

What do you think about these machines and the prices?
Is my grinder going to perform well with those machines?

Any advice is welcome.

Greetings from France :)

D,

Advertisement
drH

#2: Post by drH »

Of those machines, I've owned a Classika for several years and it was built to last. It's not convenient if you have to make many milk drinks back to back because you have to let the boiler reach steam temperature. That said, for espresso it was very forgiving, easy to use, and reliable.

alpinito1 (original poster)

#3: Post by alpinito1 (original poster) »

Thank you Dustin, it actually sounds like the kind of use I have. Though I am not sure how this machine compares to the others.

luvmy40

#4: Post by luvmy40 »

I have only owned one of the machines you list, The BDB.