Trying to decide between Breville Barista Touch vs Dual boiler, please help me

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
yalag

#1: Post by yalag »

Hi I'm relatively new to the espresso world but so far 1 month in, I'm loving it. But I'm still within a return period of my Barista Touch machine, I really want to decide if I want to stick it out or just return it and buy the Dual boiler. Here are a few areas I need your advise on.

(1) Milk frothing

I felt I'm am completely lied to when it comes to the automatic feature. I've asked around online and pretty much everyone agrees that the automatic function will not just "automatically" give you latte art ready milk forth out of the box. I'm willing to pay money for it to do that, but it doesn't. I've tried different settings myself, and it never does. I'm using whole milk.

So in the absence of that, I'm thinking maybe just get the dual boiler without the auto feature. What's the point

(2) Startup time

I've done some research and have found that people say that the dual boiler needs 6 min or so to warm up to full temp (from Lance@youtube). Is this considered fast/slow? And also, how long does the BBT take to warm up? No info was found online.

(3) Readings

I'm rather frustrated that the BBT machine is technically a higher end machine than the BBP but it doesn't even have a pressure gauge. I'm still learning, I'd like to get as much readings/data as possible and this machine doesn't read things like that. Also for temperature, I have a +1/+2/+3 style of setting to control the temperature but it doesn't even tell me what the actual temperature is! I think the Dual Boiler gives me that info. That seems to be a win or am I missing something?

(4) Tinkering