Total Newbie Recommendations

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
voicesandbeyond

#1: Post by voicesandbeyond »

Hi!
I recently obtained a Breville Bambino Plus Espresso Maker and I am looking to find beans and a grinder and anything else I need. Very excited about this!
Thank you for responding or pointing me in the right direction!

Vincent

Nunas
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by Nunas »

Welcome! Hey, that's a cool little machine...never seen one and had to look it up. Off the top of my head, it reminds me of some Breville cafe Romas I had way back when, but with some cool automated features. I've never seen an automated steam wand before. It's nice to see that they built in the ability to do it all manually too.

Okay, so what do you need. Well, nothing major really. Some espresso glasses/cups/mugs if you like shots. Some 6 to 8 ounce cappuccino cups if you like cap. Maybe some 10-ounce bowls for latte (bowls as opposed to cups/mugs open up a whole world of possibilities for latte art).

I gather that it comes with the foaming jug; if not, then you'll need one of those. If you get one without the inbuilt thermometer then be sure to also get a thermometer if you are going to manually steam. You need this at least until you get a feel for manually judging the temperature. Frankly, after years of making milk-based espresso drinks every day I still use a thermometer every time. Consistency is everything...especially when learning.

Because this is a thermoblock machine (as opposed to a boiler), you won't need any other fancy gadgets.

You should buy a scale capable of measuring in 1/10th of an gram increments. Measure your coffee every time (consistency is... :D ). A quick search of this site will turn up many possibilities. You don't need a fancy one intended for espresso making, although if you do get one of those it would be useful when/if you upgrade to a boiler machine.