Thinking about a new espresso machine with $1500 budget. Appreciate your thoughts

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
mawst95

#1: Post by mawst95 »

Hi all,

I'm not a newbie, but it's been a LONG time since I've needed advice from the experts here. I have had a VBM Domobar Super HX since...maybe 2014? I've had issues here and there--some of which aren't totally explainable. I had a power connector melt, boiler replaced, two heating elements burn out, a half dozen tank microswitches melt. I suspect that for the most part, these have been my fault. However, my heating element seems to have once again exploded. (This time I swear it wasn't my fault! LOL). Thankfully, for a long time I lived near Eric and he's become my de facto technician.

Although I intend to replace the heating element (and hope its fixed), my fiancé thinks I ought to replace it. I tried for a $3500 budget and was told NO. So I'm looking at about $1500-ish. Honestly, for what I need, that should be fine.

So what am I looking for. I drink 100% milk-based drinks. I've made the occasional espresso or americano for guests. The VBM is a behemoth and I can fit that on my counter, but smaller would be better. Fancy technical innovations appeal to the geek in me, but really why do I need it? I buy my fresh medium roasted beans, grind with my older model e37s, and get perfectly decent shots for my perfectly decent milk.

I can put it on a dedicated 20a circuit if that matters. I could even do a 220v receptacle if absolutely warranted. The way the machine is positioned, having the steam on the left side of the machine (when facing it) would be great, but not a deal breaker.