Tampers, WDT Tools, & Leveling Advice

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Elemsee

#1: Post by Elemsee »

Hi everyone! I just ordered a Flair 58, to begin my espresso journey. I've read some posts/watched some videos, but would love some advice and feedback on espresso preparation tools / my line of thinking. Feel free to answer any parts of this post, any advice is appreciated!

1. Tamper - since I'm new to espresso, I am assuming a calibrated tamper would be best for me to ensure consistency. Is that a reasonable way of thinking? I'd also like to keep my budget below $100, BUT, if I will see noticeable differences in output from a more premium option (Pullman, Espro, Force, etc), I'm open to it.

Here are my current options I'm deciding between - open to others as well

---- Normcore V4 Calibrated: https://www.normcorewares.com/collectio ... upgrate-v4

---- Barista Hustle: https://baristahustletools.com/north-america-shop

---- Newton Tamper: https://www.mugshotnyc.com/shop/p/newton-tamper

---- Luxhaus Calibrated: https://lux-haus.net/products/luxhaus-5 ... ng-pitcher

---- Decent Tamper - a bit out of my preferred budget, but I trust this company: https://decentespresso.com/tamper

2. WDT Tool - if the needles are within 2mm-5mm, does the build really add much of a difference? Will I get similar results from these options?

---- Etsy - 4mm- saw a coffee professional post about this, and I love the stand it comes with: https://www.etsy.com/listing/977629464/ ... la=1&gao=1&

---- Normcome - 2mm - https://www.normcorewares.com/collectio ... on-tool-v1

---- Decent - the founder said this is meant to only rake the top of the grounds however, so I will likely not buy this one - https://decentespresso.com/rake

---- open to others