Starting a mobile espresso bar! Have the vehicle, need the machine!

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
humenbean

#1: Post by humenbean »

Hi guys,

I've creeped here for years, but mostly for information gathering. I've been researching for about 3-6 months about beans to machines and am finally at a bit of a brick wall.

For starters, I bought a Citroen HY van a few weeks ago and it's in Conwy, Wales getting worked on. And will be shipped to where I live, NYC area to sell espresso and coffee out of! Below are some photos.

Unloading at the shop

What they can look like

It's pretty sexy right now.

Anyway, now with a little backstory out of the way... I'm trying to get a dual group lever espresso machine. There seems to be very very very few on the market. And most of them are in Italy like the Lelit, and aren't distributed or carry a warranty in the states.

I'm on a bit of a tighter budget, or I would just spring for a slayer or mirage. And I really really don't like the look of the astoria or other similar generic machines.

So my question is two fold... Is there anyone I'm missing? In the sub 10k range? I know about Salvatore, but they literally won't call me back. I've called them 5 times now over the last month. He's 'too busy to call back.' And they have a 6 month backlog.

Is it stupid to consider used? Mirage 2/3 group lever machines seem to popup frequently enough. I'd assume because people want to switch back to semi or full auto. But I'm clueless with it comes to used espresso machines.

Thanks in advance. And if you have anymore questions for me ahead of time, shoot! I work from home.

baldheadracing
Team HB

#2: Post by baldheadracing »

Can't help you with the machine - Bosco is the obvious choice for a commercial lever along with the Victoria Arduino Athena, but these are perhaps outside your budget. I just wanted to let you know about this video in case you haven't seen it. Love the HY!