Should I upgrade from Rocky to Ceado E6P

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
thatbrian

#1: Post by thatbrian »

Newbie here in the frustration phase of my espresso hobby.

The machine I decided to start with is the Lelit Victoria. It's brand new.

My grinder is a 7 year old Rocky Rancilo, that I just cleaned and adjusted.

My beans have come from local roasters, and have been within 2 weeks from roast date.

I have watched many hours of YT video, and read much here, but haven't even come close to a drinkable shot.

The weakest link is either the grinder or me (or a close tie). There is hope for me, but the grinder can't improve. It is what it is.

My question:

Should I burn though 10 more pounds of coffee beans with the Rocky, as I'm improving my technique, or should I drop a grand on a new grinder now? I will likely buy a new grinder at some point, but I would feel better about doing so if I knew I was going get to actually drink a cup, rather than dump it down the sink.

I've set the Rocky everywhere from 3-11, trying everything I could to dial it in. I can get the proper ration in 25ish seconds, with the grinder at 5, but the result is a very bitter.

If/when I do get a new grinder, it will likely be the Ceado E6P, or something equivalent.

I don't mind spending the money, but if it's not going to greatly help this endeavor, why do it?

Thanks in advance.

luvmy40

#2: Post by luvmy40 »

I'd ditch the Rocky for just about anything. I've never understood why they are so popular. Take that for what i'ts worth as one guy,s admittedly biased opinion.

It never hurts to work on your prep. Getting that solid and consistent is key regardless of the quality of your grinder or machine.

thatbrian (original poster)

#3: Post by thatbrian (original poster) replying to luvmy40 »