Seeking advice for small commercial espresso machine

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
qq35q35

#1: Post by qq35q35 »

Hi Gurus :D ,

I'm a total newbie to the coffee industry. I'm in Melbourne Australia and I want to start a food stall business selling some products that need to combine with espresso coffee. I've been doing some research for a few days and heard that the rotary pump and a good grinder would be the two most critical elements for my business in the aspect of continuously making coffee and ensuring good extraction. In that case, if my budget is about $3,500 AUD ($2,275 USD), can someone please recommend me a combo of machine + grinder? I'm looking at Lelit Bianco V3 which looks like an ideal machine but it's over my budget a bit. Still need some coffee machine gurus' help :!:

Keywords:
Espresso only, 200 cups a day on average, food stall (tent) business.

Cheers,
Dawei

another_jim
Team HB

#2: Post by another_jim »

I would not get a Bianca or any home machine for 200 cups a day. Get a used one group commercial machine; Rancilios and Astorias make good inexpensive workhorses.

For a grinder: get a used Mazzer Super Jolly and add the SSP Cast Steel burrs, or a used Eureka or Mythos 75mm flat burr grinder. Any of these options gets you excellent grind quality at a commercial pace and at a low price.

The traditional alternative is to avoid us chatty home espresso people, and find a local roaster whose coffees you really like. If you make them your supplier, they will hook you up with the right gear and teach you the right techniques to make them look good.