Right espresso machine for beginner?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
ari-gato

#1: Post by ari-gato »

I'm new to the hobby... We have all "one touch" type machines in our house for making coffee. I found a two year old Breville Dual Boiler and the asking price is $700 and seems fair. My concern, is this the right machine for a beginner? With so many machines out there, it's just tough to know where to begin. I had considered a new Bambino Plus or the Barista Express. I decided against the express because I want to get a separate grinder. Any thoughts? brand spanking new to this.

BaristaBoy E61

#2: Post by BaristaBoy E61 »

ari-gato wrote:I had considered a new Bambino Plus or the Barista Express. I decided against the express because I want to get a separate grinder. Any thoughts? brand spanking new to this.

You can still later add an external grinder to the Barista Express. That way there's no rush to get a grinder, you'll then have redundancy and a grinder should you later sell the Barista Express to upgrade.
"You didn't buy an Espresso Machine - You bought a Chemistry Set!"

baldheadracing
Team HB

#3: Post by baldheadracing »

I'd take a used Breville Dual Boiler over a new Barista Express or Bambino Plus all day every day. One of the better home espresso machines versus two of the - well - mediocre choices, to be polite?

However, please do your research on what to look for in a used Breville Dual Boiler; what kind of water was it used with, common leak points, etc. How comfortable are you opening up the machine and replacing the usual wear points? etc.
-"Good quality brings happiness as you use it" - Nobuho Miya, Kamasada

ari-gato (original poster)

#4: Post by ari-gato (original poster) »