Rancilio Silvia - Cheap PID on Auber Website - too good to be true?

Recommendations for espresso equipment buyers and upgraders.
HelloEspresso

#1: Post by HelloEspresso » Dec 03, 2019, 11:10 am

Hello all,

I apologize if this is a silly question. I'm relatively new to the Espresso scene, and have started out my journey with a Breville Duo-Temp and a Breville SGP around 5 years ago. Now, the BDT has sprung a leak somewhere, and I really don't care for fixing it, so I thought it was time to upgrade a little. I've been using the non-pressurized baskets on the BDT and have had some success, so I picked up the Silvia after some extensive research.

Backstory aside, I am well aware of the fact that the machine does not have a PID and that the boiler temp fluctuates quite a bit, so temperature surfing is required to achieve consistency. That aside, I know that aftermarket PIDs are not uncommon and are easy to install, but seems like the price of the PID (on average) is $300 for the Auber Instruments one. So I was quite surprized to find it here https://www.auberins.com/index.php?main ... ucts_id=36 for $145. Am I missing something?

Thanks!

NISMO_Juke

#2: Post by NISMO_Juke » Dec 03, 2019, 11:22 am

Totally legit as that's where I ordered mine from. Even though they seem to sell on other sites for a higher cost it's still the same thing. Do keep in mind that's the 'basic' model and if you want preinfusion and steam control it does cost more, but worth it if you want a very nice all-in-one unit.

HelloEspresso

#3: Post by HelloEspresso » Dec 03, 2019, 11:57 am

Awesome, thanks!
In terms of steam and pre-infusion, it seems that the jury is hung on the pre-infusion, so I am not sure if I really care, but is there a benefit to the steam? I heard that the Rancilio has some impressive steam output out the gate, so what would really be the benefit of the steam control?

Thanks for the reply!

NISMO_Juke

#4: Post by NISMO_Juke » Dec 03, 2019, 12:15 pm