Pullman or VST baskets

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Mike3dr

#1: Post by Mike3dr »

I'm looking to buy New baskets which do you recommend? Thank you

Jeff
Team HB

#2: Post by Jeff »

Why do you want new baskets?

What are you trying to achieve?

What machine, grinder, and coffees are you using?

If you're new to espresso, my answer is pretty much "none of the above". If you want new baskets, I'd stick with something like the EPNW HQ 14 (that one doses like an 18 and I prefer ridgeless) and stay away from any of the high-flow baskets like the VST, many IMS (depending on hole pattern and size), and probably the Pullman (I have no direct experience with the Pullman baskets).

Mike3dr (original poster)

#3: Post by Mike3dr (original poster) »

Getting a ECM Synchronika, (used) the old owner recommended New VST baskets (he is keeping the ones he bought), wanted to get peoples opinion on them, and which they liked better.

Splunge
Supporter ❤

#4: Post by Splunge »

While I've accumulated a couple dozen baskets over the years (including several VSTs), I keep coming back to my Pullman 17-19g.
I generally start new coffees with straight (non profiled) shots at 17-17.5g. If I think the coffee has more to give I'll use a rough lever profile. Once the grind is set for whichever approach I've settled on, I'll generally leave it alone, fine tuning by small changes in dose. The Pullman basket seems to respond better to this approach than others I've tried. By not dosing too high initially, it seems to maintain decent enough clarity as well as body that I just can't get with the E&B baskets - though they're the clarity champs by far IME.

FWIW I prefer light and med roasts pulled 1:1.5 or so.
Chris

Ypuh

#5: Post by Ypuh »