Profitec Pro 800 vs Bezzera Strega vs Quick Mill Achille

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
El_hondero

#1: Post by El_hondero »

Hello guys , I'm very new here

I'm slowly looking for my first serious level machine . I'm very new to the espresso game , I don't even have a proper espresso machine , I only have 3 moka pots and a picopresso from wacao.

I've scoured intensively on HB and other forms regarding spring lever machines and still can't arrive at a choice

I've narrowed it down to the profitec pro 800 , Quick mill Achille and the bezzera strega.

The pro 800 is right at the top of my budget , but it looks really good and apparently highly rated.

The Achille is quite a low key machine not much can be found about it. But it seems to be about the same machine as the pro800

The strega is the most affordable , but I'm not sure about it , as many purist have a thing or 2 to say about it ...

My biggest criteria is durability and low maintenance.
I'd like to use that one machine for years to come and maybe do maintenance on it once or twice a year .

Thank you for your time

JayBeck

#2: Post by JayBeck replying to El_hondero »

Welcome! What is it about a spring lever style machine that draws you to it? I think that could be something good to know. The Profitec Pro 800 is a very good machine. It's a dipper style lever which means it can tend to pull shots cool and then can rapidly heat up if you pull many shots in succession. It also can only preinfuse at boiler pressure which is fine for darker roasts but when doing lighter roasts it can be a challenge to pull off. Have you considered the Londinium R24? It doesn't suffer either of those ills and is smaller than the Pro 800.

Advertisement
El_hondero (original poster)

#3: Post by El_hondero (original poster) »

Thanks for the reply jaybeck .