Profitec Pro 700 or DE1?

Recommendations for espresso equipment buyers and upgraders.
D_Prince

Postby D_Prince » Jun 05, 2019, 9:37 am

Such different machines... I'm the guy that buys once if he can, so I'm leaning towards the Pro 700. I do like technology so the DE1 tempts me, but funny enough outside my sous vide stick, I intentionally try to keep my kitchen equipment analog for longevity.

There is always the manual profiling add on from WLL but I haven't read anyone's experience with that. I'm also not leaning into pressure profiling anyway. Took me a while but finally came to the conclusion that I was stopping short of all I wanted with the Pro 600. Rather not save a little and make a remorseful purchase.

Thoughts?

Lateralus

Postby Lateralus » Jun 05, 2019, 10:54 am

Go with the Profitec 700. These are incredibly well made machines and will last a long time. I have zero experience with Decent Espresso beyond their website but Profitec is a beast of a machine.

Nunas

Postby Nunas » Jun 05, 2019, 11:17 am

I have an ECM Synchronika nearly a twin of the 700. If you want manual control but simple operation then this is for you. Adding the flow kit still gives you full manual control...it just adds the ability to control another variable. It's nearly impossible to make a bad coffee with the ECM/Profitec; it's quite close to a superauto in repeatability. And it's built like a tank. Be sure to get the new version with the 2-bar steam if you like milk drinks. It steams nearly as well as a commercial machine.

I know a fellow who has a DE1 and who previously had a Synchronika. While he likes the DE1, he sometimes misses the manual control. That said, I understand that a software update will be adding some sort of manual control (but, hey, I'm no expert on these). If you want absolute repeatability (or nearly so), then this is for you.