Profitec GO vs. Rancilio Silvia Pro X

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
AmishDiplomat

#1: Post by AmishDiplomat »

Hey team - lurker turned poster.

Looking for some input on my specific situation. I used to work as a barista in DC while attending college and have been a devout daily pour-over user since I was 17. I've enjoyed tweaking my pour over recipes for the various blends and origins I've had over the years.

My partner and I are looking to make a dive into espresso and upgrade from my Aeropress/Joepresso v2 setup! Personally, I like espresso sans milk and an occasional cortado - so I value things like PID, pressure gauges, and consistency in order to modify recipes. My partner is more a cappuccino / latte enjoyer so I think the smaller details aren't as crucial to her.

I'm currently split between a Profitec Go (~$999.00 usd) from WLL and a used Rancilio Silvia Pro X (~$1,400.00 usd) available via FB in my area. (There are a number of used BDBs in my area (~$1,200.00), but unless it's a steal of a deal I worry about getting one used. The water out here is incredibly hard and I don't want to get one that's too far down the scale-hole as I've read it's better to use softened water from day 1 vs de-scaling a BDB. But I digress.)

I could go either way. Here's my rationale for each:

I see the Profitec Go as "good enough" for milk while checking many of my other boxes, and see the cash saved on this machine as going towards all the espresso accoutrements that I currently lack, i.e. pitchers, tamper, saucers, drip tray sized scale, electric grinder, etc. I may eventually tire of the shot to steam workflow, but I also reason that in 2-3 years I could sell the Go and use those funds to invest in a double boiler.