PID temperature... bunch of questions

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
tsmspace

#1: Post by tsmspace »

newbie here,

first the questions:

-how advanced are the PID controllers used for these new consumer espresso machines? examples include the Diletta Mio from SeattleCoffeeGear, or the acosco line, I don't know all of the places to look for machines I have some common hits from google,,

- Speaking of temperature stability, there are some videos around discussing how thermoblocks are considered unstable, and generally inconsistent during water-flow , but that new PID controlled thermoblocks are much better. The Diletta Mio (which is one of the machines I'm considering) has a boiler for water, which is PID stabilized, and a thermoblock for steam, , which I don't care about at the moment, because I don't use it,, actually a selling point of the machine is a switch that if off, the steam just never powers up. ,,,,, I am inclined to like the idea of a boiler, because it is a thermal mass.

- on the other hand,,, if thermoblocks are the future, and the only real limitation is the specific stabilization loop (which once upgraded, might solve many lines to flat) ,, then it's a matter of some firmware updates to make thermoblocks fully superior to boilers, and shouldn't I just go that route? Faster warmup is pretty enticing.