PID a Rancilio Silvia or upgrade to an HX or double boiler?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
werbin

#1: Post by werbin »

I have probably been reading too much and am confused about my best upgrade options.
Please help.

I have been using a Rancilio Silvia + Mazzer Mini for several years now with good experiences and am ready to upgrade to get better shots and to get away from the nuisance of temperature surfing.

Right now, I typically make 2 -3 shots a day and 1 cappuccino in the morning. I use an appliance timer to turn on the Silvia about 1/2 hour before I wake up. I leave the Silvia on until late afternoon. I am having some success with different temperatures with different blends. I try to get cooler brew temperatures with Red Cat than with other blends. It is tricky to do that with temperature surfing.

I think I have an opportunity to get a used Pasquini Livia for a good price.

I have limited counter space. The HX machines I have looked at are much larger than the Silvia. I would prefer Silvia size (w: 9" d: 11.5") than the Pasquini size (w: 12" d: 15"). But, I could accommodate the larger size if that is the best espresso quality option.

I think that my options are:
1. PID the Silvia using the Watlow SD3C w/steam control from pidkits.com.
This will get me better temperature control and avoid the need for temperature surfing.

2. Get an HX machine. I think that the advantages are simultaneous steaming and brewing and reports that the shot quality is better with minimal fussiness. But, it sounds like it is absolutely necessary to flush the HX. That sounds a lot like temperature surfing with minimal temperature control. What's your experience? Are there other, better HX machines to consider?