Option-O Lagom Mini vs hand grinders for French Press?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
xcd

#1: Post by xcd »

I'm new to manually making my coffee, coming from a Nespresso system previously. I settled on using a French Press to start.

What would be the best grinder for that? I researched it a bit, and it seems some people claim the coarser grind is not as demanding on the grinder but others claim that on coarser settings on cheaper grinders produce a mixture of large and small grinds, which ruin the flavor.

I'm thinking I should get a really cheap grinder to start, or else get a relatively good grinder that can last me a while.

1. I bought a random WMF grinder at a local store for about $47USD. The coffee I made with it hasn't tasted very good, though I'm unsure if that's due to the beans (Member's Mark Colombia Medium Roast), my technique with the French Press (followed James's advice to the T), or some other factor.

2. Option-O Lagom Mini
+ small, very pretty
+ 110v AND 220v
+ can do expressos in case I get into it?
- cannot be upgraded later (eg SSP burr)

3. Fellow Ode:
+ pretty;
+ popular, so people can consult on grind settings;
+ upgradable?
- 110v OR 220v (I may move to a different country soon, so this is a big negative for me);

4. Manual grinder: Timemore Chestnut X or 1Zpresso J Max
+ tried a hand grinder, seems fun?
+ seems to have excellent build quality
+ no power (110v/220v versions)
- novelty may wear off

What do you guys suggest? Should I stick with the cheap store bought WMF grinder, or get one of these better ones? What would I be missing/gaining?

jrham12

#2: Post by jrham12 »

Ian,

First of all, welcome to the forum!