Newbie ready to make the jump to espresso machine/grinder

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
MtlCoffeeFan

#1: Post by MtlCoffeeFan »

Hi, I have saved up for a while and I'm ready to buy my first real espresso machine. I have been reading the forum for a while but would like final advice.

Basically I started drinking espresso with my Nespresso and Starbucks. Now close to work I discovered a great coffee shop and behold I can't drink what is coming out of my Nespresso anymore! That being said I have never made a real espresso in my life. I am a very good cook so I am not intimidated by this.

I would like to buy something that will make me happy for the years to come and that has the ability to easily replicate a good pull. I need a machine good for espressos and cappuccinos. And for the occasional multiple drinks when having friends over.

For the grinder I am eyeing the Baratza Sette 270W (I am a precision freak by nature).
For the machine I am less sure, looking at the Breville DB 920XL.

I am basically looking around these price points, could be a bit more or less. I just don't want to invest and not be able to make great coffee.

Advertisement
jaredw

#2: Post by jaredw »

No one really knows what the sette will be like just yet. Although it looks good from various videos and the like.

I started my coffee journey with a very similar setup. I think the DB 920xl is a great machine to start with. Although don't expect to live with it for ever but by the time it breaks down you will probably be wanting to upgrade anyway. Goodluck!

Bret

#3: Post by Bret »