Newbie - Grinder with budget $100-300

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
nmjones12

#1: Post by nmjones12 »

Hello,

I am a newbie to coffee. I am purchasing my beans from a roastery. So far I have thrown out my Keurig (newbie) and have purchased 2 percolators. I intend to purchase a french press and eventually an espresso machine. My cheap coffee grinder I've had for about 3 weeks recently started smoking due to the constant use of grinding lots of coffee daily. There are 6 - 8 of us drinking coffee oncee or twice a day.

Right now - this week I need a grinder - something that will do coarse grinds really well and something I can eventually use as I purchase more coffee equipment - pour over, cold brew, espresso. I don't mind upgrading - but I need something durable that I can use daily. Budget $100-$300

I've reviewed the Baratza line, Rancilio Rocky and Breville. I don't mind purchasing a grinder specific to espresso later - if I can get a really good course grinder. I have enough coffee ground for the week so I need something quickly.

Please help..

Bluenoser

#2: Post by Bluenoser »

A grinder for espresso and pour-over/French press can be somewhat difficult to find depending on how fussy you are for each. The only grinder that will fit both for under $300 is a manual grinder, such as a Kinu Phoenix.. (there are a host of other manuals and you can search Prima Coffee or James Hoffmann for reviews on good hand grinders). I've used a Kinu Phoenix and it will last you virtually forever and is something you can travel with. It can compete with $1000 electric grinders for grind quality.