New to espresso advice - buy cheap, learn and upgrade, or buy expensive and learn

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Alwyn

#1: Post by Alwyn »

Hi all,

I've been grappling between two espresso machines at quite different price points. I'm new to espresso, have been using my 9Barista up until this point which is a variation on a stovetop brewing method. For my birthday as a gift to myself I'm looking to take the next step and purchase a fully fledged espresso machine.

The way I see it, there are two options that appeal to me: buy a Rancilio Silvia for £500 or a Lelit Bianca for £2000 (or there abouts, waiting to see when v2 is available in UK online). If I were to get the Rancilio I would be able to learn more about the fundamentals of making an espresso and then upgrade to a better machine once I have more experience. With a Lelit Bianca I would be able to learn on a machine that has more control over all of the variables up front and I can tailor from there.

I guess my question is, would it be better to learn the basics on a more simple model before upgrading - I'm not bothered really about the financial commitment, the reason for thinking of starting in this range is that I think it would be easier to learn on a more basic device. I know within myself too, I'd want to upgrade from that point to a machine that offers the kind of control and ability to experiment that the Lelit Bianca does.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated :)

P.S. I have just ordered a Niche Zero, which is yet to arrive - this was part in preparation for the espresso machine and in part for use with v60

Nunas
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by Nunas »