New espresso machine with $1500 budget

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
CaffeineNepenthe

#1: Post by CaffeineNepenthe »

Hey guys.

I was hoping to get some advice on buying a new espresso machine.
Currently I have been using a De'Longhi Dedica 680 machine for a few years. The espresso that comes out is kinda drinkable but it tastes nothing like restaurant/cafe espresso. I have tried different beans, grinds, etc on the machine without much variation in the final product. I am looking to upgrade my machine, I have a few questions below that I hope you can help me with:

A few facts about my preferences
-I only drink black espresso. I don't like lattes or cappuccinos so a dual boiler would be superfluous.
-I am an espresso novice and would prefer an automatic machine that doesn't require too much maintenance or work per shot
-I prioritize taste, water heating speed, and durability over aesthetics and brand name.

1) I want a home machine that can produce close-to-restaurant quality espresso. Is this possible on a budget of 1.5k? If so, what is a good brand. (More for less is better obviously)

2) online reviews seem to praise the Breville 870XL, does anyone have any experience with this? How good is it? What about the ECM Classika?

3) Does anyone absolutely love their De'Longhi Dedica 680 and know how to squeeze amazing espresso out of it?

Thanks!

mlunsford27

#2: Post by mlunsford27 »

If you only drink black espresso, Carola by Quickmill is an affordable machine that seems well built. It has a brew group but no steam system. There are some detailed reviews on it on this site. Might want to look into it because it will be good bang for the buck if you really only make espresso (it is $900 new from Chris coffee)

GregoryJ

#3: Post by GregoryJ »

What kind of grinder do you have?

With a good grinder and a simple lever machine you can make excellent espresso.