New espresso machine - budget around $1500-1900

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
adey

#1: Post by adey »

Hi all,
I am totally new to the espresso machines world, but have been tampering with manual shots brewing weight/time, and breville smart grinder + bambino plus.

I mainly make double espressos and milk drinks/lattes, occasionally 5-15 at a time for a family events.

I am looking to buy good reliable espresso machine that can pull multiple good espresso shots(5-15), quickly steam milk for them, and last for a while(good quality price ratio) while providing good shots and milk steaming consistency.

Features I am looking for:
1.Pulling espresso shot and brewing milk at the same time.
2. Prewater/preinfusion.
3. PID pressure/temp control, and shots timer are good to have, but not must, as I see that those who use espresso machines regularly for a while just learn to eyeball the shots while pulling them manually.
4. Rotary/quiet pump is nice to have, but not must.

After doing some research, as of know, I have understanding that:
1. Both dual boiler, and new dual thermoblock and HX machines can deliver consistent stable temperatures for the multiple shots and milk steaming. if this is true, which one would you go with in terms of shots and milk steaming consistency, reliability and lifespan?

2. True preinfusion and rotary pump comes at a higher price(eg. lelit bianca, or profitec 500), and the machines I am looking for just have prewatering and vibrational/loud pumps(which is ok). Are you ok with just prewatering and noise level of vibration pump?

3. The bigger the boiler size the more steaming capacity for multiple milk drinks machine has. Which boiler size/machine size ratio would you consider?

4. e61 group requires flushing between shots. Is this true or not? if yes, which machine is more forgiving if you do not perform flush between shots? Meaning on which machine you can have an easier, faster routine?