New espresso machine advice - maybe Olympia Cremina?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
will100

#1: Post by will100 »

My Bezzera Mitica is about 9 years old, repairs and down time are getting more common, I may be ready for next machine. My Mitica is down now, smoke and burning smell (I'll diagnose, and likely fix regardless, but I think I want to look at new machines anyway).

I know everyone decides differently, I had always thought I would by a LM3 when I finally upgraded. But, I'm not in a position to make that spend right now.

The other side of the coin from LM3, would be the (hopefully) simplicity and long lasting of an Olympia Cremona.

Any thoughts on if I would regret the Cremina? I'm not a pro, but I'm well versed in dialing in grind, and managing temperature on my HX machine (Mitica), and I can taste correct (certainly not to the taste of many, but better than most folk I hang around).

Since I'm without espresso, I'm eager to get something going

Thanks for any thoughts....

drgary
Team HB

#2: Post by drgary »

You could get something simple and high quality like a Cafelat Robot to use as a backup if any daily machine needs servicing. That could also buy you time to save for another machine and widen your choice. And if you can service machines already, why spend the premium for a new Cremina? Also there are other high quality levers. Why a Cremina in particular?
Gary
LMWDP#308

What I WOULD do for a good cup of coffee!

danetrainer

#3: Post by danetrainer »

The Cremina is awesome and with all the machines on the market it's the one for sure I won't let go of. I now have a Decent and a Slayer too, the Decent has been moved on to a friend.

The Cremina packs a big punch in a small footprint, and steams well too you always have that option. Here is my shot this am with the Cremina and MonoCon (sometimes a picture is worth a thousand words!)