Need Help - Espresso Machine $500-$1000 Budget

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
correarc1

#1: Post by correarc1 »

Hi,

I've been making espresso based drinks with a Cafe Roma for a few years, and I'm ready to upgrade. I have already done a grinder upgrade, so I really just want to focus my budget towards a machine. Unfortunately, I don't think I can afford a HX machine so right now I'm looking at:

Rancilio Silvia
Lelit Anna

My needs:

Quality/consistent espresso
Powerful steamer
Stay in budget

I'm not particularly concerned about the warmup time, though time between shots/steaming function would be nice the faster possible... (this is a "nice to have").

My question is:

Which of these you would recommend, and why. Also, if there is a machine that you would recommend but is not one of the listed here/why.

Thank you for all your help!

Scott_G

#2: Post by Scott_G »

Used Nuova Simonelli Oscar? It's a HX with excellent steam capacity. If your new machine is only going to be used for 2-3 per session, you may also want to consider a lever like a Pavoni.

Blacktip

#3: Post by Blacktip »

1st line is selling Lelit right now for $999. I don't have any experience with this machine, but the price is very good for an HX machine. ECM Casa is < 1K. If you can stretch your budget a bit, you may want to consider Expobar Lever. A Lever machine, as mentioned in the previous post, is a very good option, if you are the manual-type person.

Capac

#4: Post by Capac »

Get a HX.

Kryptonicspb

#5: Post by Kryptonicspb »

Get a Lelit Diana from 1st line they have a coupon that makes it $1080. On paper and in multiple reviews, it's one of the best options out there for the cost. Double boiler with a ring group that is PID controlled. Very cool

correarc1 (original poster)

#6: Post by correarc1 (original poster) »

Thank you for all of the replies!