Need a grinder specifically for French Press or to do both Espresso & French Press

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
BrevilleMan

#1: Post by BrevilleMan »

Hi, I have a Breville Barista Express BES870XL. The grinder on it seems just alright, and I'm no expert but the grounds seem to be very inconsistent.

I also just bought a Espro P7 French Press that I haven't used yet, and the Breville Grinder doesn't make very good coarse grinds and I don't want to break the grinder seeing it was only meant for espresso.

So I've been doing a crazy amount of research to find either the best French Press grinder or one that could do both Espresso and Coarse Grinds. The only one that has been recommended for both is kinda expensive which is the Rancilio Rocky Doserless Grinder.

The 2 grinders I've been looking at just for French Press are the Baratza Encore or the Krups Conical Burr Grinder with Scale GX430851

The Krups has a scale which I like but barley any reviews on it, plus Krups rebadges a lot of there products these days. The Encore seems to be the go to for many.

I was thinking of the Baratza Virtuoso but that might be too much and Seattle Coffee Gear said it's better for Espresso not that great for French press.

Any info would be great, seeing I would like to pull the trigger on one this week.

Nunas
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by Nunas »

I don't have any particular grinder make/model recommendations, just a couple of thoughts.

You are highly unlikely to ruin the grinder in your Barista by turning it to coarser for French press. I did that all the time in mine.